NAIOP WA 2018 Wins Three Chapter Merit Awards [Press Release]

NAIOP Washington State Wins Three National Chapter Merit Awards Honoring Leadership in Government Affairs, Member Growth and Executive Leadership

Peggi Lewis Fu headshot

SEATTLE – At the 2018 NAIOP Chapter Leadership and Legislative Retreat on February 6, NAIOP Corporate honored NAIOP Washington State with three Chapter Merit Awards, the most awarded to any single large chapter this year. NAIOP’s annual merit awards program evaluates chapter education, government affairs involvement, member recruitment and retention, communications, and chapter management. NAIOP Washington State won recognition for its Legislative/Government Affairs efforts; for membership growth, with the greatest number of new members in 2017; and for leadership, with Executive of the Year going to NAIOPWA Executive Director Peggi Lewis Fu. 

In 2017, NAIOPWA, led by its Government Affairs Committee, made significant impacts on state and local legislation affecting the business environment and commercial real estate; helped elect business-friendly leaders, including Mayor Jenny Durkan; and expanded outreach beyond Seattle with its first eastside mayors and elected officials event, and plans to broaden into Snohomish county as well. 

In membership, NAIOPWA grew by 100+ members, the most of any chapter this year. The Membership Committee and chapter leadership continue to focus on member value. As a result, NAIOPWA grew to be the fourth-largest NAIOP chapter, with more than 965 members.

Continuing the chapter’s recognition for overall strength, Peggi Lewis Fu has been awarded Executive Director of the Year. This award recognizes executive leadership and vision. In 2017, Fu directed 13 volunteer committees, increased revenues and membership, oversaw the launch of a new app, and launched new programs to grow membership among students as well as efforts to ensure diversity in today’s membership and the CRE community of the future.

“NAIOP Washington State is focused on member value: Ensuring access to the networks members need to grow their careers and businesses, that legislation continues to provide a favorable economic climate for business growth, and that we are creating a diverse, welcoming environment for future CRE leadership,” said NAIOP Washington State President Tony Toppenberg, Senior Project Manager, Turner Construction. “Under Peggi Lewis Fu’s leadership, the chapter has grown both in members and quality in the past three years, and is well-positioned for the future of our industry. Our volunteer leadership continues to thrive. The 2017 leadership of the Government Affairs committee—chairs Nancy Rogers and Donnie Belk, and board liaison Ann Bishop—and of the Membership committee—Danny Jackson and Steve Cory, and board liaison Monty Kilcup, and 2017 Chapter President Kristin Jensen deserve special credit for a job well done.”

Group on stage accepting awards


About NAIOP Washington State 

NAIOP Washington State is a trade association for developers, owners and investors in office, industrial, multi-family and all other commercial real estate sectors. The chapter, recognized as Chapter of the Year in 2017, is the fourth-largest and one of the fastest growing chapters nationally, with more than 965 members representing the region’s leading firms in commercial real estate development. It provides a number of opportunities for professional development and serves as a comfortable and welcoming forum for networking and business improvement.

The chapter is known for its philanthropy, with hundreds of its members volunteering each year for community enhancement projects ranging from stream recovery to social service center renovations. The chapter is also recognized for its significant advocacy efforts to ensure responsible and balanced development practices in the Washington. 

Media contact:

Daphne Adair, [email protected], 206-818-1102

Pictured, top right: NAIOP Washington State Chapter Executive Director Peggi Lewis Fu

Pictured, middle:  

Front row: Tony Toppenberg, NAIOPWA 2018 Board President; Peggi Lewis Fu, NAIOPWA Executive Director; Layne Alfonso, NAIOPWA Member and Corporate Board Director.

Back row: Tom Bisaquino, NAIOP Corporate President & CEO, Marc Gearhart, NAIOPWA Board Director; Cathleen Meyer, NAIOPWA Board Secretary; Tina Pappas, 
NAIOPWA Member and Corporate Board Director; Jeff Peterson, NAIOPWA Board Director; Ann Bishop, NAIOPWA Board Director; Jim Neyer, 2018 NAIOP Corporate Chair. 

Share this post: